Commissioner’s Advisory Panel

This opportunity has now closed.

To hear about future opportunities directly, please join our mailing list at the bottom of the page.

The Children’s Commissioner for Wales is appointing new members to her advisory panel.

Our panel is ideal for people who are excited by the prospect of making a positive difference to the lives of children and young people in Wales and want to share their knowledge, skills and life experiences with our team.

Playing a key role within the governance of the Commissioner’s office, the panel acts as a sounding board, providing practical advice to the Commissioner and the team to ensure the successful delivery of our new ambitious three-year plan.

Further details about the Panel’s role can be found in our terms of reference document (PDF).

We want to appoint between 12 and 18 new members through an open competition process.

Knowledge of issues affecting children and young people in Wales today, for example education, health (including mental health), poverty, technology and online lives, equality, care experienced, safeguarding, race, refugee, LGBTQ+, disability, Gyspy, Roma, Travellers, and a positive attitude towards co-working with young people is essential.

We are passionate about creating a diverse workforce and advisory panels and positively encourage applications from under-represented communities. We embrace equality of opportunity and seek inclusivity of disability, neurodivergence, ethnic origin, race, nationality, gender and gender presentation, marital status, sexual orientation, culture or religion.

For informal enquiries about this opportunity, please get in touch with Sara Jermin on 01792 765600 or email

Additional information

  • Appointments will be for a three-year period, starting in July 2023
  • The role is unpaid but you will be reimbursed for any out-of-pocket expenses.
  • Applicants need to be based in Wales.
  • Applicants also need to be 18 years old or over.
  • As an independent commissioner, we cannot accept applications from individuals currently employed in a senior role by an organisation which the Commissioner could review under her statutory powers, or from elected members, including local councillors, Senedd Members and Members of Parliament. There is some additional information in the Role Profile about conflicts of interest.
  • We will not appoint more than one person per organisation.

If you’re uncertain about whether this role is for you, please do reach out for a discussion.

How to apply

To apply, please email the following documents to by 0900 on 26 June 2023. 

We cannot accept late applications.  When applying, please specify ‘Advisory Panel Application’ in the email subject box.

Please provide:

  1. A CV (two sides of A4 maximum) setting out your career history, achievements and any existing public appointments or offices held. If your lived experience can help us broaden the diversity of our advisory panel, please tell us about yourself in your personal statement.
  2. A personal statement (maximum 400 words) providing evidence of why you’re suitable, based on the Role Profile (PDF)
  3. Our Diversity monitoring form (Opens in Word Document)

All applications will be considered by a panel consisting of the Children’s Commissioner, Commissioner’s Head of Policy, Head of HR, and Head of Communications and Performance.

Due to the popularity of our opportunities it may not be possible to provide feedback to unsuccessful applications.

Data Protection

All personal data you provide will be processed as set out in the privacy notice. All documents relating to unsuccessful applications will be destroyed no later than 12 months after the closing date for applications.

The decision notice and scoring sheets will be destroyed after 12 months.

The successful applicant’s details will be kept securely during their term of office and up to 12 months following departure of post.